My first speech to Council

296 Council PortraitsBelow is a copy of the first speech I delivered in Council at the start of my first term in September 2008.

IT IS WITH GREAT PLEASURE THAT I TAKE MY PLACE ON SYDNEY CITY COUNCIL.

I AM COMMITTED TO SPENDING MY TIME HERE WORKING FOR THE BETTERMENT OF THE RESIDENTS OF SYDNEY.

IT WAS MY GREAT HOPE AS A CANDIDATE TO BE ABLE TO WORK WITH COUNCIL TO IMPROVE THE CONDITIONS OF MANY OF THOSE PEOPLE IN THE CITY WHO FIND THEMSELVES WITHOUT A VOICE.

FOR MANY PEOPLE IN THE INNER CITY THE PRACTICES AND PROCESSES OF COUNCIL ARE BEYOND THEIR KEN AND THESE PEOPLE FIND THEMSELVES CONSTANTLY WITHOUT A VOICE IN THE DECISIONS OF THEIR COMMUNITY.

I REFER TO THE MANY PEOPLE WHO LIVE IN PUBLIC HOUSING, ON THE BLOCK OR ON THE STREETS.

TWICE IN THE PAST WEEK I HAVE STOOD ON THE STEPS OF SYDNEY TOWN HALL.

THE FIRST TIME WAS ON TUESDAY WHEN THE RESULTS OF THE POLL WERE ANNOUNCED AND I STOOD HERE WITH MY FELLOW COUNCILLORS.

THE SECOND TIME WAS ON SATURDAY WHEN I SPOKE OUT AGAINST THE NT INTERVENTION FOR THE ABORIGINAL RIGHTS COALITION.

BOTH TIMES WERE INCREDIBLY IMPORTANT MOMENTS FOR ME AND HIGHLIGHT THE WAY I HOPE I CAN USE MY TIME ON COUNCIL TO SUPPORT THOSE WITHIN OUR SOCIETY WHO FACE ONGOING INJUSTICE.

TOMORROW I WILL BE ATTENDING THE WATERLOO SAFETY ACTION GROUP AND NEXT WEEK A MENTAL HEALTH FORUM AT NORTHCOTT.

FOR ME THESE ARE THE REASONS I NOMINATED FOR COUNCIL….SO I CAN WORK WITH THE DISADVANTAGED WITHIN OUR CITY.

I BELIEVE THERE ARE MANY GREAT INITIATIVES STARTED BY THIS COUNCIL IN ITS PREVIOUS TERM THAT WE WILL BE ABLE TO EXTEND AND PROMOTE FURTHER INTO THE DISADVANTAGED COMMUNITIES.

I’M THINKING OF SERVICES FOR YOUTH AND SENIORS, ALTERNATIVE FORMS OF HOUSING, SUPPORT FOR INDIGENOUS DEVELOPMENT ON THE BLOCK, FRESH FOOD MARKETS FOR HOUSING RESIDENTS AND GREEN SOLUTIONS FOR OUR CITY’S DEVELOPMENT.

I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO ALL THE WORK THAT LIES AHEAD AND THE OPPORTUNITIES THAT WILL ARISE TO FURTHER THESE AIMS.

29th September 2008

Leave a Reply

