Thanks for the support

Today the Sydney Morning Herald published this article about various difficulties I have experienced in my personal life in the past.  While I was initially concerned about making these details public I have been overwhelmed with many calls, emails, texts and comments expressing support from people across the political spectrum, within the City of Sydney and beyond.

I want to thank everyone for their support and hope that my experience can show others who are dealing with similar problems that there is a way out.

8 responses to “Thanks for the support

  1. Congratulations, Irene, on your courageous comments in this morning’s paper. I have only just gained the right to vote in Australia and it’s examples like yours that convince me even more that I should cast it in your direction. Keep up the great work.

  2. I second Clive’s comments. Congratulations on overcoming such adversity, and on your courage in anticipating attempts to use it against you. I’m delighted that the Greens had the good sense to reject your resignation, and wish you every success.

  3. christine tiley

    Dear Ms Doutney, what a brave girl you are to overcome such adversity to become the person you are today. I have grat admiration for your doggedness and determination. Very best wishes.

  4. Robyn Robertson

    Irene, you rock! What a story you have lived, and what a lot you now bring to the table! We should be so grateful that you have shared this with us. There is so much in your experiences, that most of us can connect in one way or another. That detractors and opponents want to use this against you goes to their lack of courage and moral fibre. You inspire me, and I think your going public can only encourage others to look for a way out of their difficulties. Any of us could have faced your hurdles, but not all of us could have leapt over them.

  5. Hi Irene, I can not tell you how important it is, to me, that you, and other strong leaders in the community like you, go public with their struggles with mental health issues and social problems.Thank you, thank you, thank you! I spent much of the 80’s in a fog of severe depression requiring several hospital admissions. I am now able to manage my illness quite well and I lead a productive and generally happy life. Your article highlights that these problems are nothing to be embarrassed about, can happen to anyone and importantly can be overcome. Hooray for you!

  6. Congratulations on your courage Irene, my vote is heading your way for sure 🙂

  7. It is a sad reflection on some sections of society, politics and the media that you should feel forced to reveal any private and personal details. I join with the three comments above and congratulate you on your impressive journey. You clearly have a lot to offer your community and I am glad to hear you have such strong and heartfelt support.

  8. I have just read the Monday Herald article about you and agree with all of the above comments. Congratulations on your courage and all the best for you and your community. You took a brave step to speak out and shame on those who wanted to discredit you. All the best and remain the strong woman that you are.

Leave a Reply

